

Annual Membership Business Meeting Virtual meeting via Zoom March 5, 2021 Minutes

I. Call to Order – B. McCoy

MOTION: R. Mangeri moved that the meeting be called to order. M. Secaur seconded the motion. All in favor. Meeting called to order at 8:47am.

II. Presentation of Proposed Executive Board for the 2021-2022 School Year – T. Piciullo

- a) As Immediate Past-President and Chair of the Nominating Committee T. Piciullo is charged with presenting the 2021-22 Slate of Executive Board Members to the general membership. Voting procedures adapted due to the virtual conference format.
- b) Nominations for the LIASCD Executive Board for the 2021-2022 School Year

Ms. Emily O'Brien	President
Dr. Tania Dalley	President-Elect
Dr. Richard Mangeri	Vice President
Dr. Regina Cohn	Secretary
Dr. LaQuita Outlaw	Treasurer
Dr. Joan Lange	Historian/Active Past-President
Ms. Beth McCoy	Immediate Past-President
Mr. Matthew DiMenna	Director
Dr. Esther Fusco	Director
Ms. Dolly Kranz	Director
Mr. Dan McCabe	Director
Mr. David Seinfeld	Director
Dr. Ben Wiley	Director

c) Call for nominations from the floor. No additional nominations presented.

d) MOTION: T. Fulton moved that the proposed Slate for the Executive Board of LIASCD for the 2021-2022 School Year be accepted. J. Daly-Lewis seconded the motion. All in favor. Motion passed.

III. LIASCD Ira Schwartz Scholarship - B. McCoy

- a) Ira Schwartz Scholarship established by LIASCD in 2020 to honor LIASCD's longtime friend, colleague and Poet Laureate, Ira Schwartz, the former Associate Commissioner of Education for New York State.
- b) The scholarship award winners were selected for their outstanding academic achievement, resilience, community service and potential as future leaders. In addition to a check, each student was sent a certificate with the words of physicist Richard Feynman, *Study hard what interests you the most in the most undisciplined, irreverent and original manner possible.* Congratulations and best wishes to the 2021 Ira Schwartz Scholarship Award Winners.
- c) Scholarship Committee members: J. Lange, L. Lewis, L. Seinfeld, E. Fusco
- d) 2021 LIASCD Scholarship Award Winners were announced.

IV. Adjournment - B. McCoy called to adjourn the meeting

MOTION: R. Cohn moved to adjourn the meeting. L. Outlaw seconded the motion. The motion was adopted. Meeting adjourned 8:51am.

Minutes submitted by: Regina Cohn